Reach thousands of whisky and spirits lovers every day.
Yamazaki Refill Spanish Oak 2026 vs Spanish Oak 2022: How Do They Differ?
Follow Spiritory on Google News to get our latest guides and releases delivered straight to your feed.

Yamazaki Refill Spanish Oak 2026 vs Spanish Oak 2022: How Do They Differ?
Yamazaki Refill Spanish Oak Limited Release 2026 differs from the Yamazaki Spanish Oak 2022 Edition in four main ways: it is matured only in refill Spanish oak casks, its label names the distillation years 2014 and 2015, its malt is lightly and medium heavily peated, and its official notes lean to stewed apricot, cherries, cacao, coffee and wood smoke, while the 2022 bottle was described as malt whiskies from oak casks of northern Spain with notes of raisins, prunes, sundried tomatoes and a buttery finish. Both are bottled at 48% ABV, but the 2022 bottle was one of four single malts in the Yamazaki Limited Edition Tsukuriwake Selection, while the 2026 bottle is a single release built around the idea of refill oak.
Key Takeaways
The 2026 bottle is matured only in refill Spanish oak casks. The 2022 announcement names oak casks from northern Spain and does not say whether they were first fill or refill.
Both are bottled at 48% ABV. The 2026 label carries no age statement and the 2022 announcement gives none either, but the 2026 label names the distillation years 2014 and 2015 and the bottling year 2026.
The 2026 label lists the malt as lightly and medium heavily peated. The 2022 description does not mention peat.
The official notes differ: stewed apricot, cherries, cacao, coffee and wood smoke for 2026, against raisins, prunes, sundried tomatoes and a buttery finish for 2022.
The 2022 bottle was one of four single malts in the Tsukuriwake Selection. The 2026 bottle stands on its own and is stamped Limited Release.
Tip: If you open both bottles, compare them at the same strength. Both are bottled at 48% ABV, so pour the same measure of each and, if you add water, add the same few drops to both glasses.
The Two Bottles Side by Side
This table puts the official details of the Yamazaki Refill Spanish Oak Limited Release Edition 2026 next to those of the Yamazaki Spanish Oak 2022 Edition. The 2026 details come from the bottle's label, the House of Suntory product page and Suntory's Japanese announcement. The 2022 details come from Suntory's 2022 announcement, as published by The Daily Pour and Senatus and reported by The Spirits Business.
| Detail | Refill Spanish Oak Limited Release 2026 | Spanish Oak 2022 Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Cask, as officially described | Refill Spanish oak casks only | Malt whiskies matured in oak casks originating from northern Spain |
| First fill or refill | Refill, stated on the label | Not stated |
| Age or vintage | No age statement; distilled 2014 and 2015, bottled 2026 | No age statement or vintage in the announcement |
| Strength | 48% ABV | 48% ABV |
| Malt type | Lightly and medium heavily peated | Not described as peated |
| Colour | Brilliant amber | Rich reddish amber |
| Nose | Stewed apricot compote baked with cloves and nutmeg | Dried raisins and prunes, with hints of sundried tomatoes |
| Palate | Fresh cherries with dried figs, charred peach and shaved cacao | Delicately rich and decadent with subtle acidity |
| Finish | Rich, fruit forward coffee notes and wood smoke | Buttery with lingering acidity and a hint of bitterness |
| Release context | A single limited release, stamped Limited Release, for 20 markets | One of four single malts in the 2022 Yamazaki Limited Edition Tsukuriwake Selection |
Where the table says "not stated", the official 2022 wording simply does not cover that point. It does not mean the answer is no.
The Casks: Refill Spanish Oak Versus Oak From Northern Spain
The biggest difference is the wood. The 2026 label gives the cask type as Refill Spanish Oak, and Suntory's Japanese announcement says the whisky is made only from malt matured in refill Spanish oak casks. Suntory defines a refill cask as one that has already been used at least once to mature whisky and is then used again to mature new spirit.
On its product page, the House of Suntory says the potential of Spanish oak extends beyond its first fill, and that as a Spanish oak cask is used again, its influence becomes gentler and more nuanced. According to the brand, as reported by The Whiskey Wash, refill means the oak becomes gentler, so the red fruit of Spanish oak meets the bright, elegant fruit of Yamazaki's spirit.
The 2022 announcement describes its casks differently. It says the Yamazaki Spanish Oak is composed of malt whiskies matured in oak casks originating from northern Spain, and it describes Spanish oak as the depth enhancer that gives Yamazaki its multi layered flavour with mature fruity notes. It does not say whether those casks were first fill or refill, so this article does not call them either. For more on how cask types shape flavour, read What Is a Whisky Cask? Types, Wood, and Influence on Flavour.
Age and Strength: Two Vintages on One Label Versus No Stated Age
The 2026 label carries no age statement, and the 2022 announcement gives none either. The 2026 bottle gives you more detail instead: the handwritten panel on its label says it was distilled in 2014 and 2015, and a red tab on the side reads Bottled in 2026. The 2022 announcement gives no distillation years or age for the Spanish Oak.
The strength is the same. The 2026 label states 48% ABV, and the 2022 announcement says each of the four Tsukuriwake expressions, the Spanish Oak included, is bottled at 48% ABV.
Peat: A Peated Malt Recipe Versus No Peat in the Description
The 2026 label lists the malt type as lightly and medium heavily peated, without saying how much of each malt went into the bottle. The House of Suntory says that combining peated malt with Spanish oak is a technique from its early days, which Chief Blender Shinji Fukuyo revisited for the Kogei Collection, a different release sold in travel retail.
The 2022 Spanish Oak description does not mention peat. In that set, peat had its own bottle: the Tsukuriwake Selection included a separate Peated Malt expression alongside Puncheon, Spanish Oak and Mizunara. The 2022 Spanish Oak notes also contain no smoke, while the 2026 finish names wood smoke.
The Official Tasting Notes Compared
These are Suntory's official notes for each bottle, not our own.
Refill Spanish Oak Limited Release 2026
Colour: brilliant amber.
Nose: stewed apricot compote baked with cloves and nutmeg.
Palate: fresh cherries with dried figs, charred peach and shaved cacao.
Finish: rich, fruit forward coffee notes and wood smoke.
Spanish Oak 2022 Edition
Colour: rich reddish amber.
Nose: dried raisins and prunes, with hints of sundried tomatoes.
Palate: delicately rich and decadent with subtle acidity.
Finish: buttery with lingering acidity and a hint of bitterness.
Read side by side, the 2026 notes move through stewed and fresh fruit, spice and cacao to coffee and smoke. The 2022 notes centre on dried fruit, richness, acidity and a buttery finish. Suntory's Japanese announcement sums up the 2026 bottle as vibrant, with a gentle woody aroma and a light, fruity finish.
Release Context: A Standalone Release Versus One Part of a Set of Four
The 2022 Spanish Oak was released as part of the 2022 Yamazaki Limited Edition Tsukuriwake Selection, four single malts: Puncheon, Peated Malt, Spanish Oak and Mizunara. The announcement translated tsukuriwake as "artisanship through a diversity of making", and Chief Blender Shinji Fukuyo said the selection "honors the fact that greatness comes from diversity". The reports also say the selection was initially released in Japan in 2020 before it reached select global markets, including Germany, France, Austria and Spain, in 2022. Spiritory also lists the Yamazaki Spanish Oak 2020 Edition.
The 2026 bottle is a single release with its own label, stamped Limited Release. The Whiskey Wash reports it for 20 markets, including Germany, France, Italy, Spain and Austria, and places it after a run of Spanish oak focused Yamazaki releases that includes the 2022 Tsukuriwake Spanish Oak Edition. According to The Whiskey Wash, Suntory frames the new bottle within monozukuri and tsukuriwake, which it describes as "the art of creating diversity in whisky making". For the full run of Yamazaki limited bottlings, read Max's Yamazaki Limited Editions From 2014 to 2026: How Has the Series Changed?, and for the 2026 release on its own, see Yamazaki Refill Spanish Oak 2026: 7 Things to Know Before the Release.
Which One Suits Which Drinker
The official notes give a fair guide to which bottle may suit you. They describe style, not quality, and your own taste is the final judge.
The 2026 Refill Spanish Oak may suit you if you enjoy stewed and fresh fruit with baking spice and cacao, and a finish that brings in coffee and wood smoke. It also suits drinkers who want a label that names its refill Spanish oak casks and its distillation years.
The 2022 Spanish Oak may suit you if you lean towards dried fruit such as raisins and prunes, a delicately rich, decadent palate with subtle acidity and a buttery finish, with no smoke in the official notes. It also suits collectors who follow the 2022 Tsukuriwake Selection, where it sits beside the Puncheon, Peated Malt and Mizunara bottles.
Both bottles share the same strength and the same distillery, so the comparison comes down to the casks, the malt and the flavours Suntory describes.
Tip: Check the cask line before you compare listings. The 2026 label states refill Spanish oak, while Suntory's 2022 wording only names oak casks from northern Spain. If a listing calls the 2022 casks first fill, ask where that comes from.
FAQ
What is the main difference between Yamazaki Refill Spanish Oak 2026 and Spanish Oak 2022?
The casks. The 2026 bottle is matured only in refill Spanish oak casks, which Suntory says give a gentler oak influence. The 2022 bottle was described as malt whiskies matured in oak casks from northern Spain, with no first fill or refill detail.
Was the Yamazaki Spanish Oak 2022 Edition first fill?
The 2022 announcement does not say. It names oak casks originating from northern Spain and gives no fill history, so we do not describe it as first fill or refill.
Are both bottles the same strength?
Yes. Both are bottled at 48% ABV. The 2026 label carries no age statement and the 2022 announcement gives none, but the 2026 label gives the distillation years 2014 and 2015.
Is the 2026 bottle peated?
Its label lists the malt as lightly and medium heavily peated, and its official finish names wood smoke. The 2022 Spanish Oak description does not mention peat.
Was the 2022 Spanish Oak sold on its own?
It was one of four single malts in the 2022 Yamazaki Limited Edition Tsukuriwake Selection, next to Puncheon, Peated Malt and Mizunara, each at 48% ABV.
- Key Takeaways
- The Two Bottles Side by Side
- The Casks: Refill Spanish Oak Versus Oak From Northern Spain
- Age and Strength: Two Vintages on One Label Versus No Stated Age
- Peat: A Peated Malt Recipe Versus No Peat in the Description
- The Official Tasting Notes Compared
- Release Context: A Standalone Release Versus One Part of a Set of Four
- Which One Suits Which Drinker
- FAQ
About the author

Christopher Deutsch
I drink and collect with intention, drawn to the sherried depth of Dalmore and the balance of Yamazaki.
To the author